In 2016, there were 19,925 convictions for DUI violations in Virginia. That means that nearly 20,000 drivers lost their driving privileges, paid fines of up to $2,500 and may have even spent up to 12 months in jail.
If you are pulled over by the police, it is normal to be nervous—especially if you know (or assume) that you’ve been pulled over for reckless driving. Whether you were going 20 miles over the speed limit, passed more than one car abreast on a two-lane road, passed a stopped school bus with flashing red lights or violated any of the other Virginia reckless driving laws, be careful what you say.
“Reckless driving” may conjure up images of high-speed chases or a car weaving in and out of traffic at a frightening clip—and both of those risky styles qualify as reckless driving here in Virginia—but there are other types of driving maneuvers that are also considered illegal.
There are a number of consequences associated with a DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated) conviction in Virginia. These include loss or suspension of driving privileges, fines, required installation of an ignition interlock device in your car and—depending on your blood alcohol content and number of previous convictions-jail time.
While the stigma surrounding marijuana has faded much over the past 10 years, the laws in Virginia have not. If you are accused of intent to distribute marijuana, seek the help of Eric Clingan, one of the best defense attorneys in Northern Virginia, right away.