Mistakes happen. If you lost your license because of a drunk driving arrest, you might be able to have your driving privileges reinstated. However, since Virginia has strict DUI laws, it is in your best interests to seek competent legal help. With the right Fairfax DUI lawyer by your side, you may be able to get your license back.
Requirements that do not necessitate you appearing at the DMV
Depending on the unique circumstances of your case, you may have to complete one, some, or all of the requirements below:
- Prove that you have paid all court fees
- Provide the DMV with an SR22 or FR44 from an insurance company licensed in Virginia
- Show proof of enrollment in, and completion of, the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP)
- Provide a medical and/or vision report from a nurse practitioner, physician or physician’s assistant to your local DMV
- Finish an intervention interview with VASAP
- Enroll at a driver improvement clinic
- Comply with child support orders issued by the Department of Social Services, Division of Child Support Enforcement
- Show that fees owed to the local correctional facility or regional jail have been satisfied
- Provide requested motor vehicle insurance policy information to the DMV
- Provide proof of a judgment satisfied in full, payment agreement, creditor’s consent, or bankruptcy filing to the DMV
- Pay DMV reinstatement fees which range from $40.00 to $220.00, depending on circumstances of the suspension or revocation
- Pay all applicable licensing fees
Fortunately, to complete any of the tasks on this list, you will not need to visit the DMV in person.
Attend a Virginia alcohol safety action program
One of the requirements you may have to complete is enrollment in the VASAP (“Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program”).This program is designed to reduce the number of drug and alcohol related collisions in Virginia by educating and informing offenders about the dangers of drunk driving. If the court orders you to complete the VASAP, you must report to the local ASAP office in your area within 15 days of your initial court date.
Let a skilled DUI defense lawyer protect your rights
The NoVa Law Firm fights aggressively to protect Virginia residents accused of traffic violations, DUI, drug crimes, and other criminal offenses. Call us today at (703) 352-9347 for help with your DUI, DWI or reckless driving case, or contact us online to schedule your free consultation.