If you’re charged with a DUI in the Commonwealth of Virginia, there are a variety of charges you may face. Dealing with this kind of charge can be very stressful and can overwhelm even the strongest among us at times. Because any DUI charge is a legal issue that should be taken seriously, it’s always in your best interest to hire a Northern Virginia DUI lawyer.
To help you better understand exactly what’s on the line with this specific offense, we want to look at some best and worst-case scenarios related to DUI charges:
Best Case for a First-Time DUI Charge
The best case for a first-time DUI conviction is your license will be suspended for twelve months and you will have to pay out of your own pocket for Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) classes. In the event that you are granted a restricted driver’s license by the Commonwealth of Virginia, you will still be required to pay for the installation of an ignition interlock device and then use that device every time you start your car.
Worst Case for a First-Time DUI Charge
The absolute worst case scenario for a first-time DUI charge is all of the above punishments PLUS serving time in jail. For a driver with a BAC between .15 and .20 or a driver who had a child passenger in the car, it’s mandatory to serve at least 5 days in jail. A BAC level of .20 requires at least 10 days to be served in jail. It’s also important to note that a Virginia judge can impose a jail sentence of up to one year for a first-time DUI offense.
Best Case for a Second DUI Charge
If you are convicted of a second DUI offense, the least amount of time you will serve in jail is 10 days. That minimum amount increases to 20 days if your second offense is within 5 years of the first. The smallest fine you will have to pay is $500, and an ignition interlock device is mandatory for a restricted license.
Best Case for a Third DUI Charge
If you are convicted of a third DUI offense, the least amount of time you will serve in jail is 90 days. That minimum amount increases to 6 months if your third offense is within 5 years of the first two. The smallest fine you will have to pay is $1,000.
Whether it’s your first, second or third DUI charge, you need a Northern Virginia DUI lawyer who’s going to do everything possible to protect your rights and freedom. The NoVA Law Firm is the legal team you can count on for that type of representation. Eric Clingan, the founder of The NoVA Law Firm, knows that the best defense is often a strong offense. This includes attacking the police officer’s perceptions and investigation and challenging his decision to stop your car and, subsequently, to arrest you.
Since Eric Clingan is ready to passionately advocate for your rights and best interests under Virginia law, the sooner you can contact him, the better. Get a free consultation with The NoVA Law Firm to confidentially discuss all the details of your DUI case by calling (703) 352-9347 or (703) E-LAW-FIRM.